Research

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

EBSCO Academic Search Premier covers the broad academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for more than 120 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.

AccessScience (McGraw-Hill)

Logo image for AccessScience

AccessScience (McGraw-Hill Education)

  • More than 8,700 articles covering scientific disciplines
  • 115,000 definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
  • 3,000 biographies of well known scientific figures
  • Videos that highlight the the life and work of well known scientific figures

AlabamaMosaic

Logo image for AlabamaMosaic

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama’s history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama’s archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents, students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)

Logo image for Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)

  • Focuses on many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness
  • Full text articles for more than 190 international often peer-reviewed journals
  • Subjects include Acupuncture, Body Work, Aromatherapy, Childbirth, and more

Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest)

Logo image for Black Freedom Struggle

Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest)

  • Expertly selected open primary source documents
  • Access to historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, plus more
  • Curated content from six time periods: Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to The Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)

Book Collection: NonFiction (EBSCO)

Book Collection: Nonfiction (EBSCO)

  • Abstracts and full-text for more than 4,500 nonfiction titles
  • Subjects include Careers, Health, Sports, Technology, and more

Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica)

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic is an accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering various business disciplines.

 

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)

This database is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer, and you’ll see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource.

Cochrane Library Database

Cochrane Library

Trusted, up-to-date evidence-based healthcare knowledge informing daily decisions made by doctors, nurses, medical students, patients, carers, and researchers in more than 130 countries.

 

Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest)

Coronavirus Research Database

The Coronavirus Research Database brings together trusted content from journals, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. This database brings together content from open-access journals and preprints and additional content being made freely available by major publishers worldwide. This versatile content set is designed to help students, researchers, and health care professionals investigate answers to pressing questions arising in the wake of the pandemic. This publication is continuously updated.

EBSCOHost Search (EBSCO)

EBSCOhost Search (EBSCO)

  • Search databases individually or simultaneously
  • View, save, e-mail, print, or export citations directly from the database
  • Text-to-speech for HTML articles

Encyclopedia of Alabama

 Encyclopedia of Alabama

The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online resource on Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. This site offers articles on Alabama’s famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and so much more.

ERIC (EBSCO)

Eric Logo

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

Films on Demand Master Academic Package

Films on Demand Master Academic Package is a comprehensive video database containing thousands of resources for General Education and Technical & Trade Education subject areas taught at Drake State..

Gale's OneFile: Vocations and Careers

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource DescriptionGale's OneFile: Vocations & Careers database provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate learning institution, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Gale Business Insight Essentials

Business Insight Essentials

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Students, business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills.

Gale Business Plans Handbook

Logo image for Business Plans Handbook

(The link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale Business Plans Handbook is a collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. For those looking for examples of how to approach, structure, and compose their unique business plans, the Handbook presents 20 sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries — only the company names and addresses have been changed.

Gale Drama for Students EBook Subcollection

Logo image for Drama for Students E-Book Subcollection

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource DescriptionGale Drama for Students EBook Subcollection provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. It also includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions, and cultural and historical context.

Gale eBooks (Gale)

Gales EBooks

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale eBooks provides top titles from the best nonfiction publishers, and it complements other eBook platforms. Gale eBooks are optimized for search, discovery, and integration across your library’s educational programs – giving patrons a better learning experience.

Gale Legal Forms

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description:

Gale Legal Forms provide access to state-specific legal forms; access to legal forms for wills, real estate contracts, power of attorney, landlord tenant, premarital agreements, and more. Forms are fill-in-the-blank and downloadable and are constantly updated to reflect the latest Alabama laws.

Gale Literature

Gale Literature

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale Literature brings together Gale’s premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty, and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.

Gale Novels for Students E-Book Subcollection

Logo image for Novels for Students E-Book Subcollection

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description:  Gale's Novels for Students eBook Subcollection 

 

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts

Gale OneFile: Culinary

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale One File: Culinary Arts offers an array of information—more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale OneFile: The Fine Arts and Music Collection places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture

GALE ONEFILE Gardening and Horticulture

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: The Gale OneFile: Home Improvement puts the research of hobbyists and professionals alike on a solid foundation with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool, and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description:  The Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tournism database provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications covering topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the hospitality and tourism industries’ historical and current affairs. 

Gale OneFile: Science

Gale OneFile: Science

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: With the Gale OneFile: Science, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Gale Power Search

Gale Power Search

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description:  Gale Power Search offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips.

General OneFile (Gale)

Gale GeneralOneFile

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: General One File allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors internet searches, users can easily tap into guaranteed high-quality sources.

General OneFile: Informe Academico (Gale)

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource DescriptionGale OneFile: Informe Académico meets Spanish-speaking users’ research needs with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. 

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,800 news sources, including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest news collections in the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)

GreenFILE

GreenFILE is a database focused entirely on environmental topics across many various disciplines. It is an ideal place to begin any research concerned with renewable energy or materials or with sustainability.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)

  • Nearly 80 full-text magazines
  • Access over 110 full-text reference books
  • Access over 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports
  • Access to full-text for current health pamphlets

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

  • Access nearly 550 full-text scholarly journals on medical disciplines
  • Access nearly 850 indexed journals
  • Topics include Critical Care, Mental Health, Pediatric Care, and more

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

Logo image for History Reference Center

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

  • Access over 640,000 full-text records from reference books, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, and many other sources
  • Access nearly 2,000 encyclopedias, reference books, and non-fiction books
  • Access over 81,000 full-text biographies on historical figures
  • Access over 56,000 full-text primary source documents,
  • Access over 45,000 images
  • Over 83 hours of historical video content

History Reference Center eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Logo image for History Reference Center eBook Collection

History Reference Center eBook Collection (EBSCO)

eBook companion collection for EBSCO History Reference Center

In Context: Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues. It includes informed, differing views that help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw unique conclusions. This database is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

JSTOR Database

JSTOR database contains thousands of journals and research articles going back into the 1800s.

Library, Information Science and Technology (EBSCO)

Logo image for Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)

  • Access over 600 indexed core journals
  • Access over 120 indexed selective and priority journals
  • Subjects covered are Bibliometrics, Cataloging, Classification, Information Management, and more

Literary Index (Gale)

Gale Literary Index

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale Literary Index is a master index of the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.

Literature: Scribner Writer Series (Gale)

Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource DescriptionGale Literature: Scribner Writer Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series. It also includes approximately 1,600 full-text articles. e.g., American Writers; A Collection of Literary BiographiesBritish Writers and European Writers

Literature: Twayne's Authors Series (Gale)

Gale Literature: Twayne’s Author Series

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series contains hundreds of books from Twayne’s Authors, covering World, English, and U.S. Authors, providing literary critical interpretation and discussion for readers and students.

MAS Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)

MAS Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)

eBook companion collection for EBSCO MAS ULTRA: School Edition

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFile Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas, including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.

 

Master File Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Logo Image for MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)

eBook companion collection for EBSCO MasterFILE Premier

MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO)

Logo image for MAS Ultra: School Edition

MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCO)

  • Access over 470 full-text magazines
  • Access over 340 full-text reference books
  • Access over 55,000 primary source documents
  • Access over 100,000 full-text biographies
  • Access to an image collection that contains over 1.8 million photos, flags, maps, and color PDFs

MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine)

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is an online information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine. The service provides curated consumer health information in English and Spanish with select content in additional languages.

Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)

Logo image for Military and Government Collection

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

  • Offers current news to military members, students, researchers, analysts, and policy makers
  • Access over 270 full-text periodicals and journals
  • Indexing and abstracts for over 440 periodicals and journals

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

Logo image for Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

  • Access over 300 full-text regional newspapers
  • Access over 60 full-text national newspapers
  • Access television and radio transcripts from NPR, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, and more

New World Encyclopedia (Funk and Wagnalls)

EBSCOhost Search

 

The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for children covering various topics. The information is updated annually.

Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)

Services for Staff and Students —

The Nursing Reference Center Plus database provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research, and more. With Nursing Reference Center, nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere.

OneFile: Business (Gale)

Gale OneFile: Business

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale One File: Business is a comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news, the public library patron making personal investment decisions, or the high school student looking to major in business administration. It provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, strategy, and business theory and practice. 

OverDrive eBook Collection

 

OverDrive eBook Collection offers an ever-expanding collection of eBooks of all genres and topics.

Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press)

 Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the principal historical dictionary of the English language.

 

Oxford Reference (Oxford University Press)

Oxford Reference (Oxford University Press)

 

  • Language and subject reference works in a single, fully-indexed, cross-searchable database
  • Access 270 historical timelines by period, area, and theme
  • Access to Oxford Essential Quotations

Oxford Scholarship Online (Oxford University Press)

Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law

Personal Finance E-Book Subcollection (Gale)

Logo image for Personal Finance E-Book Subcollection

(The above link for this resource will direct you to the Alabama Virtual Library where this database is listed alphabetically.)

Resource Description: Gale Personal Finance eBook Collection involves analyzing an individual’s or family’s current financial position, predicting short-term and long-term needs, and managing those needs within a budget. Personal finance may include acquiring and using credit cards, monitoring credit scores, managing cash flow, purchasing insurance and mortgages, taking out loans, filing taxes, and planning for retirement. Personal banking—such as checking and savings bank accounts, IRAs, and 401K plans—are all considered part of personal finance.

PubMed (National Library of Medicine)

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Sources may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.

Writer's Reference Center (Facts on File)

Writer's Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively.